The tower

Following extensive restoration and repair work, made possible thanks to the generous financial support and physical efforts of many volunteers, and a generous grant from the English Heritage Lottery Fund, the tower was opened to visitors in 2001.

Tours are conducted by Trust volunteers for which a small fee is charged to go towards maintenance costs – these tours regularly raise over £2000 a year, a considerable contribution in the overall running of the Trust. 

Guided Tower Tours take place between 10.30 am and 3.30 pm every Saturday and every Bank Holiday between Easter Saturday and the second Marlborough Mop in early October. Tours may be booked at other dates/times by e-mailing membership@stpetersmarlborough.org.uk

The view from the top of the Tower is really breathtaking!

Charges: Adult £2. Child £1.

Tours (139 steps to the top) give access to the following:

  • The Priest’s Room, where many a rector may have penned his sermons
  • The ringing chamber, still with some of the old bell ropes, and now housing a small museum featuring the history of the church
  • The clock room, housing the early 20th-century beautifully engineered mechanism still operating and keeping perfect time today
  • The belfry, which originally housed the eight bells, and now houses the old Sanctus Bell dated 1741 which provides the chimes for the church clock
  • The tower roof which offers magnificent views of Marlborough and the surrounding countryside
Back to top